MINUTES 2004-2005 ANNUAL MEETING UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN INDIANA BOARD OF TRUSTEES

July 8, 2004

The University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees met in annual session on Thursday, July 8, 2004, in Carter Hall in the University Center. Present were Chair J. David Huber and Trustees Bruce H. Baker, Louise S. Bruce, G. Patrick Hoehn, Samuel J. Tucker, and James L. Will, Sr. Also in attendance were President H. Ray Hoops; Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Linda L. M. Bennett; Vice President for Governmental Relations Cynthia S. Brinker; Vice President for Student Affairs Robert W. Parrent; Vice President for Business Affairs and Treasurer Robert W. Ruble; Vice President for Advancement Sherrianne M. Standley; Faculty Senate Chair Christy Baker; and Student Government Association President Eric Sharp.

There being a quorum present, the meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m.

Vice President Standley called the roll and determined that a quorum was present. She read the notice of the annual meeting. On a motion by Mr. Tucker, seconded by Mr. Baker, the 2003-2004 annual meeting minutes were approved and reading of the minutes was waived.

The nominating committee chair, Mr. Will, reported that the nominating committee on which he, Mrs. Bruce, and Mrs. Torain served, submitted the following slate of officers for the 2004-2005 year:

Chair	J. David Huber
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Long-Range Planning Committee	Bruce H. Baker
Vice Chair/	
Chair, Finance/Audit Committee	G. Patrick Hoehn
Secretary	

Mr. Will noted that the committee has been guided by the statement pertaining to leadership of the Board and continuity and change, first adopted by the Trustees in 1986, and requested that the statement be entered into the minutes of this annual meeting.

"It is the sense of the nominating committee that the leadership of the officers of the Board of Trustees should be balanced between the elements of continuity and change -- continuity to provide a kind of stability in the officership of the Board; change to take advantage of the talents of the several members of the Board."

"To that end, without establishing maximum terms of office for any officer position of the Board, it is recommended that, at each annual election of officers, the Board consciously consider the values both of continuity and change for each officer position and of the development of new leadership among the Board and the University officers."

Mr. Huber called for other nominations from the floor. There being none, he declared the nominations closed. On a motion by Mr. Will, seconded by Mr. Hoehn, the nominating committee slate <u>was approved</u>.

Mr. Huber appointed Robert Ruble as Treasurer and Sherrianne Standley as Assistant Secretary.

Mr. Huber appointed Louise Bruce, Harolyn Torain, and Sam Tucker to serve on the Long-Range Planning Committee, with Bruce Baker as chair.

Mr. Huber appointed James Will, Sr. and the two trustees whose appointments are pending to serve on the Finance/Audit Committee, with G. Patrick Hoehn as chair.

Minutes Board of Trustees Annual Meeting 07-08-04 Page 2

Mr. Huber appointed Bruce Baker, Louise Bruce, and the alumni trustee, whose appointment is pending, to the USI Foundation Board of Directors for 2004-2005; and David Huber, Sam Tucker, and James Will Sr. to serve on the USI/New Harmony Foundation Board of Directors for 2004-2005.

There being no further business, Mr. Huber declared the annual meeting of the University of Southern Indiana Board of Trustees adjourned at 1:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,	
Sherrianne Standley	